Shawinigan-Sud, Qué, Town, pop 11 544 (2001c), 11 804 (1996c), 11 584 (1991c), area 48.97 km2, inc 1961, is a picturesque residential suburb of the city of SHAWINIGAN. It is located at the head of Shawinigan Falls, on the east bank of the Rivière Saint-Maurice. Shawinigan-Sud dates back to 1912 when it was set up as the village municipality of Almaville. In 1953, Almaville was merged with the parish municipality of Notre-Dame-de-la-Présentation-d'Almaville, which 7 years later, became the town of Shawinigan-Sud.
The name Shawinigan, of Algonquin origin, means "portage on the crest." This refers to the crest of rocks that had to be climbed in order to portage around the majestic waterfall.
The walls of Notre-Dame-de-la-Présentation Roman Catholic church are entirely covered by the frescoes of painter Ozias LEDUC. The church grounds overlook Shawinigan and the river valley. Promenade du capitaine runs along the river's edge.