Charlo, NB, incorporated as a village in 1966, population 1324 (2011c), 1386 (2006c). The Village of Charlo is located eight kilometres southeast of Dalhousie on CHALEUR BAY, in the civil parish of Colborne. The first settlers, who arrived in 1755, were ACADIAN refugees who had travelled north overland from Nova Scotia to escape the deportation. A railway station and post office (both called Charlo Station) were built at the site in the 1880s and these became the focal point for the surrounding farming area. The population remained small until the BELLEDUNE smelter opened in 1966. The village was incorporated in 1966 as Colborne in honour of Sir John COLBORNE, governor general in 1839, the year when Colborne was established as a civil parish. It was renamed Charlo in 1969 for an early resident and founder of PETIT ROCHER, Charles Doucet.
There are no major manufacturing industries in Charlo, although nearby is a fish hatchery that has been in operation since 1938. Regional air carriers fly into the Charlo airport. Tourist and recreational attractions are the picturesque Charlo River falls and the summer resort areas of the Charlo beach and Eel River Bar, a large sandbar that separates the seawater of Chaleur Bay from the freshwater of the Eel River. Because of well-maintained trails and facilities, in winter Charlo is the site of frequent regional cross-country skiing and snowmobiling activities.